Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Another Ring for Ian

Another Ring for Ian

NASHVILLE, Tenn. - - Belmont University men's basketball legend Ian Clark ('13) won the 2022 NBL Championship Wednesday, as the Sydney Kings completed a three-game sweep of the Tasmania JackJumpers.

Clark, a six-year NBA veteran who won an NBA Championship as a member of the 2017 Golden State Warriors, made an instant impact for Sydney as a midseason signing.

The Memphis, Tennessee native averaged 13.9 points, 2.3 rebounds and 2.1 assists per game in 16 appearances on 47 percent shooting and 43 percent 3-point shooting.

Clark scored 11 of his season-high 22 points in the fourth quarter of the championship-clinching game.

The 6-3 guard was reunited with his former Golden State teammate and No. 1 draft pick Andrew Bogut, who serves as Kings' part-owner.

Prior to the pandemic, Clark averaged 6.7 points per game in 60 game appearances with the New Orleans Pelicans.

He also played for the Denver Nuggets and Utah Jazz.

Clark was inducted into the Belmont University Athletic Hall of Fame this past fall.

He scored 1,920 points in leading Belmont to four conference regular season championships and three consecutive NCAA Tournament appearances.

Clark joins former Bruins Amanze Egekeze ('18) and Austin Luke ('18), who won the Dutch Cup title for Donar Groningen.

Belmont University men's basketball has earned postseason invitations 15 of the last 17 seasons, including nine berths to the NCAA Tournament. The Bruins have won 20 conference championships since 2006 - third-most nationally over that span (Gonzaga, Kansas). Belmont has won 20 or more games in 12 consecutive seasons (Gonzaga, Kansas, Oregon). Belmont is one of only six NCAA Division I programs outside the Power 5 to post Top 100 rankings 12 consecutive seasons (BYU, Gonzaga, Saint Mary's (CA), San Diego State, Wichita State). Belmont University men's basketball boasts an NCAA-leading 19 CoSIDA Academic All-America selections since 2001 and is the only NCAA Division I program to make the NCAA Academic Progress Rate (APR) Honor Roll every year of existence