Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

National Award Finalist

National Award Finalist

BOSTON - - Belmont University men's basketball head coach Casey Alexander has been named finalist for two national coaching awards, announced Monday.

He was named finalist for the Hugh Durham Coach of the Year Award and Skip Prosser Man of the Year Award.

Alexander led Belmont to Ohio Valley Conference regular season and tournament titles, and the program's ninth NCAA Tournament bid since 2006.

Inheriting the Bruin program from hall of fame coach Rick Byrd, Alexander's 26 victories represented the most by any first-year head coach in NCAA Division I this season.

When coupled with his final two seasons at Lipscomb, Alexander is one of only seven NCAA Division I head coaches (outside P5, Big East, AAC) to amass at least 78 victories over the last three seasons, joining John Becker (Vermont), Randy Bennett (St. Mary's (CA)), Mark Few (Gonzaga), Chris Jans (New Mexico State), Wes Miller (UNCG) and Craig Smith (Utah State).

Belmont ranked top 20 nationally in 11 statistical categories, including first in assists per game and total assists.

In addition, Belmont has received national Top 25 poll votes in nine of the last 10 seasons.

The Hugh Durham Award is presented annually to the top mid-major head coach in college basketball. 

Finalists include Steve Forbes (ETSU), Ben Jacobson (Northern Iowa) and James Jones (Yale).

The Skip Prosser Man of the Year Award, which Alexander received in 2018, is presented annually to a head coach who achieves success on the court and displays moral integrity off the court.

Finalists include Tony Bennett (Virginia), Anthony Grant (Dayton) and Chris Holtmann (Ohio State).

For more information, log onto

Belmont University men's basketball has earned postseason invitations 14 of the last 15 seasons, including eight berths to the NCAA Tournament. The Bruins have won 19 conference championships since 2006 - third-most nationally over that span (Gonzaga, Kansas). Belmont is one of only six NCAA Division I programs outside the Power 5 to post Top 100 RPIs nine consecutive seasons (BYU, Gonzaga, Saint Mary's (CA), San Diego State, Wichita State). Belmont is one of only eight NCAA Division I programs to win 19 or more games 15 consecutive seasons (BYU, Duke, Gonzaga, Kansas, Louisville, Michigan State, San Diego State). Belmont University men's basketball boasts an NCAA-leading 17 CoSIDA Academic All-America selections since 2001 and is the only NCAA Division I program to make the NCAA Academic Progress Rate (APR) Honor Roll every year of existence.