Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Hall of Fame Criteria

The Belmont University Athletic Hall of Fame was established in 1980 when the Belmont Alumni Association made the first three inaugural inductions at the annual Alumni Dinner.  Ownership of the Hall of Fame was later transferred to the Department of Athletics where a selection committee was named and criteria confirmed.

The Belmont Athletic Hall of Fame recognizes and honors those individuals who have made exceptional contributions to the achievements and prestige of Belmont University and its intercollegiate athletics’ program.

Belmont University Athletic Hall of Fame Selection Criteria

  1. A former Belmont athlete must have completed his/her athletic eligibility at least seven (7) years before he/she is eligible to be nominated.  Non-athlete candidates (i.e. coaches, administrators/staff) may also be nominated after serving at the university for a minimum of fifteen (15) years either during their tenure or after their tenure has concluded.
  2. Persons are to be nominated for their athletic performance, embodiment of Belmont University ideals, and/or overall contributions to the university and society.

Hall of Fame Selection Committee
Ron Bargatze
Aimee Smith Brown
Bill Moore
Don Purdy
Renee Schultz
Scott Speedy
Mike Strickland
Betty Wiseman
Amy McGinnis, Ex Officio
Kenisha Rhone, Ex Officio
Greg Sage, Ex Officio

The Belmont University Athletic Hall of Fame Selection Committee welcomes nominations from alumni, community members, and supporters of Belmont University.

Nominations submitted by November 1 will be considered by the committee for that given year.

Belmont University Athletic of Hall of Fame Nomination Form