Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

The Chaney Memorial Award

The Chaney Memorial Award was established in 1977 in honor of Carl Chaney, Director of Enlistment and Public Relations under the leadership of President Herbert C. Gabhart.  He was a valued and faithful administrator and a friend of Belmont athletics for over twenty years.  Mr. Chaney served as Chairman of the Athletic Committee and was on the board of the VSAC (Volunteer State Athletic Conference).  Because of Mr. Chaney’s love for athletics, this award honors those who give untiringly to the betterment of the athletic program. 


Recipients Year
Raymond Medley 1977-78
John Kincaid 1978-79
Martha & Jim Oglesby 1979-80
Barry Paget 1980-81
Harold Herman 1981-82
Luis Del Rio 1982-83
Wayne Curry 1983-84
Mike Awalt 1984-85
Bart King 1985-86
Ron Bargatze 1986-87
Warren Johnson, Sr.  1987-88
Bill Moore 1988-89
Luanne Preston Provonsha 1989-90
Robert & Billie Pilkinton 1990-91
The Bob Wood Family 1991-92
Clint & Karen Griffin 1992-93
Walt & Paula Brown 1993-94
Ron & Kaye Knox 1994-95
Jack Young 1999-00
Otis McCowan 2000-01
Terry Brock 2001-02
Paul & Debbie Chenoweth 2002-03
Jack & Noroma Benz 2003-04
Pat Johnson 2005-06
Patrick Russo 2006-07
No award given 2008
Randy Guiler 2009
Jan and Larry Thrailkill 2014
Steve and Mary Lynne Hewlett  2015
Janis and Charlie Mitchell 2016
Helen Kennedy 2017
Shar and Dick Miller 2018