Best of the Best

Best of the Best

NASHVILLE, Tenn. - - Belmont University Athletics announced Friday its Class of 2019 for induction in the Belmont Athletic Hall of Fame.

Former student-athletes Kipkosgei Magut ('09), Brandi Miller Renfroe ('05), Alex Renfroe ('09), Brittany Thune Lindberg ('10) and Debbie Chenoweth were unanimously selected by the Athletic Hall of Fame Committee.

Gary Temple ('85) was unanimously selected as recipient of the Chaney Memorial Award, while the 2003-04 Belmont University men's basketball team was chosen as Belmont's fifth-ever Legendary Team.

In the proud history of Belmont men's cross country, few distance runners can rival the career of Magut. Selected All-Atlantic Sun Conference a staggering 16 times combining his prowess in cross country, indoor track and outdoor track, Magut was the anchor of Belmont's unparalleled run of six consecutive conference championships (2002-07). Magut joined William Kemey as Belmont's second male distance runner of the NCAA Division I era named conference runner of the year in consecutive seasons. Not only did the Kitale, Kenya native claim back-to-back Atlantic Sun Conference individual championship titles, but he also earned most outstanding performer honors at the conference outdoor meet in 2006 and 2007. Twice named United States Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) All-South Region, Magut won five individual event championships in track. After earning his bachelor's degree in business administration, Magut has been an entrepreneur and business leader in the Nashville community.

One of the most tenacious and determined players in Belmont women's basketball history, Brandi Miller Renfroe helped lay the foundation for the Bruin program's national prominence. Miller Renfroe joined Chrissie Herring as the second player in program history - and one of nine in Atlantic Sun Conference history - to record over 1,000 career points and 1,000 career rebounds. A two-time First Team All-Atlantic Sun selection, Miller Renfroe stands sixth in conference history in free throws made (419) and led Belmont's 2004 conference championship team. Her name remains a fixture in both program and conference record books in scoring, rebounding, field goals made, free throws made and attempted. During her career, the Kentucky native led Belmont to three victories over UCF - a program that finished No. 15 in the RPI this past season. Upon graduation, Miller Renfroe was Belmont's NCAA Division I era career leader in points and rebounds.

Unquestionably among the most exciting and dynamic players in Belmont men's basketball history, Renfroe highlighted the Bruins' historic run of three consecutive conference championships and NCAA Tournament appearances from 2006-08. Transferring in as an NAIA All-American from Trevecca Nazarene University, Renfroe immediately staked his claim as one of the top players in the Atlantic Sun Conference. After helping the Bruins earn signature victories at Cincinnati and Alabama early in the 2008 season, Renfroe shined on the game's biggest stage. In the 2008 NCAA Tournament vs. Duke, Renfroe repeatedly drove past the Blue Devils' defense - scoring at the rim or setting up his teammates. His 15 points on 7-for-11 shooting earned Chevrolet Player of the Game honors in Belmont's formal introduction to the college basketball world. In 2009, the Hermitage, Tennessee native was even better, earning Associated Press All-America Honorable Mention and Atlantic Sun Player of the Year honors. As a senior, he averaged 16.2 points, 7.2 rebounds and 5.1 assists per game in becoming the first college player since Tim Duncan in 1997 to lead his team in scoring, rebounding, assists, steals and blocked shots. Renfroe's 38-point performance in his final home game remains the Curb Event Center single-game scoring record.

Few Belmont student-athletes amassed the athletic and academic record of achievement of Brittany Thune Lindberg. Like Magut, Thune blazed the cross country trails and track lanes, and left Atlantic Sun Conference competition chasing. A two-time conference runner of the year and individual race champion in cross country, Thune Lindberg led Belmont to three consecutive conference team titles while also earning conference track gold medals in the 5,000 and 10,000 meters. Twice an NCAA regional qualifier and USTFCCCA All-South Region honoree (2008, 2009), Thune Lindberg accomplished the rare feat of being named first team all-conference four consecutive years of competition. As a senior, Thune Lindberg posted the sixth-fastest time in Atlantic Sun cross country championship history. The South Dakota native graduated summa cum laude, in 2010 receiving honors including NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship, Academic All-America, Atlantic Sun Scholar-Athlete of the Year and Belmont Presidential Scholar-Athlete of the Year. She serves as vice president of development for The Council of Insurance Agents & Brokers in Washington, D.C.

Debbie Chenoweth served the Belmont University community for 43 years, thriving in a number of capacities throughout campus. Her administrative support to areas including the Director of Athletics, Bruin Club, Marketing & Promotions, Office of Alumni, and most recently, men's basketball eased Belmont's transition into NCAA Division I. In her role as Director of Basketball Administration, Chenoweth served as the in-venue game producer for Curb Event Center events and handled all matters of travel and hospitality for men's basketball. When it came to special events on campus, Chenoweth was beyond compare. Her love of Belmont provided the signature "Miss Debbie" touch to every last detail for events such as the Bruin Club Golf Classic, Athletic Hall of Fame banquets and NCAA Tournament selection show celebrations. Chenoweth's cross-generational relationship-building continues to be an invaluable asset. She joins former university president Dr. Herbert Gabhart and former athletic director Mike Strickland as the third non-student-athlete or coach inducted to the Belmont Athletic Hall of Fame.

The 2003-04 Belmont men's basketball ushered in the Bruins' rise to national prominence. In just its third year in an NCAA Division I conference, Belmont went 21-9 and earned the program's first NCAA Division I era postseason invitation - an at-large bid to the Postseason NIT. After nearly defeating a John Calipari-led Memphis team, Belmont won at nationally-ranked Missouri, 71-67, on Dec. 30, 2003 - the program's first-ever victory over a Top 25 opponent. Belmont would finish 15-5 in the Atlantic Sun with Adam Mark, Steve Drabyn and Josh Goodwin earning Atlantic Sun postseason honors. Two years later, six members of the team would participate in the 2006 NCAA Tournament.

Gary Temple ('85) was a four-year letterwinner in baseball for coach Dave Whitten. Starting his law career, and ultimately opening his practice in Nashville, Temple maintained strong ties to the Bruin program. A Bruin Club member since 1992, Temple has supported the baseball program through its transition from on-campus, to Shelby Park and Greer Stadium, to its present home at Rose Park. Also a 15-year basketball season ticket holder and regular attendee at numerous Bruin sporting events, Temple and his wife, Sara, have three children.

The Chaney Memorial Award was established in 1977 in honor of longtime program supporter Carl Chaney.

The Hall of Fame and Chaney Award inductees will be honored at a dinner Thursday, Sept. 19 at 6 p.m. CT in the Maddox Grand Atrium of the Curb Event Center.

Admission is $25 per person. RSVP to