Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Student Leadership Awards

Dec McManus
Dec McManus

NASHVILLE, Tenn. – Several Belmont student-athletes were honored at Belmont's Student Leadership Awards held Wednesday night in the Maddox Grand Atrium on the Belmont campus.

Senior Abbie Whitehurst and junior Dec McManus from the track and field teams were honored with the Bruin Award.  The Bruin Award is the highest honor bestowed by the Division of Student Affairs to our student leaders.  It recognizes junior and senior students who exemplified the Community Commitments and enhanced the campus life experience through their personal character, involvement in campus life, service, and campus leadership.

Sophomore men's basketball player Tate Pierson was given the Aspiring Leader Award.  This award recognizes freshman and sophomore students who desire to make significant contributions within their organizations and communities and have demonstrated the potential for future leadership. 

Senior women's golfer Emma Kate Liu and junior cheerleader Landry Slaughter earned Student Organization Awards.  Liu was honored for her work with the Fellowship of Christian Athletes, while Slaughter was recognized for her efforts with the Student-Athlete Advisory Committee.

2019 Student Leadership Awards Photo Gallery